Menu:

 
Picture
So today I finally went to see the new Star Trek film and as you can see by five stars, I thought it was pretty good.

Ok so, I've never watched  Star Trek in my life, but I understand some references to it, I know the characters, some of the races, the ships etc.
Going into this film I was excepting a remake of Star Trek, although Star Trek is a long series with a few movies under it's belt so I don't see how you can cram it all into 2 hours. It seemed to be just another Star Trek film but with different actors, and what's Star Trek with George Takei or William Shatner. It did have the original actor of Mr.Spock in it though.


And let me say, we sat right at the front of the cinema, so all the shaky camera angles made everything a bit crazy.


So, after the intro, which was very good, set up the film, some emotion in that, we then see James T.Kirk as a kid and he's already a rebel, and Sabotage by Beastie Boys is playing in the background. Now can I say every film should start off with song as the opener or it will never be a success.

It then introduces Spock who has some mucked up past or something. Then it jumps straight into action with Kirk joining the USS Enterprise or something, it then build up some tension between Spock and Kirk who where the main characters of the film (which to be honest I didn't know)


The film has some very dynamic camera angles/shots, very shaking and the light they used reminded me of Mass Effect which isn't a bad thing. The film didn't hold back on the comedy and it actually had some very funny moments, and I'm not talking about Simon Pegg. I think he's a great actor but he didn't bring much to the film (well except for being Scotty, but still...)


Overall I think the film took a lot of risk and they payed off, the film was not as generic as I thought it was, a nice easy to follow story line and great effects, some great actors and if you're a Trek fan I'm sure you enjoyed it, it seemed to follow the source material very well.


Only thing that would of made this film the best film of the Century, is if Captain Pike pulled off his face to reveal that he was Andy Samberg the whole time and then have him high five everyone and congratulate them and then look at the camera, smile and give a thumbs up, and before the credits roll up, Lou Ferringo comes onto stage and puts his arm round Samberg, they look at each other then loo kat the camera and smile and then the credits role.


As the credits roll there should be clips from the film showing what it would be like if Andy Samberg replaced every character in the film.

REfan
5/16/2009 07:46:58 am

Good review...then I read the last two paragraphs

Reply
5/16/2009 08:21:55 am

Andy Samberg should ahve had a new character made especially for him, and instead of a space ship, they should all be on a boat, and there should be lots of jizzing faces.

Reply
Liam The Butch Man
5/19/2009 01:55:10 am

i also thought it was good, george takei should hav been in it coz it would hav been funny and chris parnell and natalie portman should hav played Spock and the black girl who kinda looks like Tyra Banks but isn't.

Reply



Leave a Reply.